Ordinance Ratifying the U.S. Constitution

State of Georgia, In Convention,

Wednesday, Jan. 2, 1788

We, the delegates of the people of the State of Georgia, in Convention met, having taken into our serious consideration the Federation Constitution agreed upon and proposed by the Deputies of the United States in General Convention, held in the City of Philadelphia, on the 17th day of September, in the year of our Lord 1787, have assented to, ratified, and adopted, and by these presents do, in virtue of the powers and authority to us given by the people of the said State for that purpose, for and in behalf of ourselves and our constituents, fully and entirely assented to, ratify, and adopt the said Constitution, which is hereunto annexed, under the great seal of the State.

Done in Convention, at Augusta, in the said State, on the 2d day of January, 1788, and of the Independence of the United States the 12th.

In witness whereof, we have hereunto subscribed our names.

John Wereat, President and Delegate from the County of Richmond.

William Stephens and Joseph Habersham - Chatham County

Jenkin Davis and N. Brownson - Effingham County

Edward Telfair and H. Todd - Burke County

William Few and James McNeil - Richmond County

George Matthews, Florence Sullivan, and John King - Wilkes County

James Powell, John Elliot, and James Maxwell - Liberty County

George Handley, Christopher Hillary, and J. Milton - Glynn County

Henry Osborne, James Seagrove, and Jacob Weed - Camden County

Jared Irwin and John Rutherford - Washington County

Robert Christmas, Thomas Daniell, and R. Middleton - Greene County